PDA

View Full Version : I have a slightly serious problem!

MattMc
11/13/2005, 07:09 PM
I want to start off by stating that i am not that experienced in this field, although i am learning quiet quickly. i Recently added a powder brown tang to my small 55g tank. It is inhabited by other fish, inverts, and coral. The param of the water is close to perfect. Recently my pbt developed ich, he is a great fish and a little costly. I read pretty much everything there is to know on the parasite. But with an extremely limited budget in mind, i was wondering if there was anything i could do to the tank as a whole, or individually, instead of the purchase of a qt tank. College and other Bills wont keep my hobby down!!!

Please let me know
Matt :) /:(

aaron23
11/13/2005, 07:15 PM
take out all the fish and do hyposalinity or use kick ick in conjunction with ruby reef - reef safe ich treatments - not sure if it will work but alot of people say it does. Another suggestion if u dont want to do hyposalinity take out all the fish get a QT and use copper - i recommend cupramine by seachem. hyposalinity cant be preformed with LR inverts corals etc. only fish.
Aaron.

Steven Pro
11/14/2005, 08:01 AM
There is nothing that has been proven to work (copper, hyposalinity, or tank transfer) that won't require a second aquarium. It does not have to be another 55 gallon tank. Depending on what else you have, you might be able to use a 30.

Angela Short
11/14/2005, 10:51 AM