PDA

View Full Version : Lighting Help!!!

fish-fan-attic
11/07/2005, 11:36 PM
Hello,
This is my first post i just finished registering..im excited to be able to get such great help to all the questions that i have..a friend of mine told me that the people on here are awesome!!! well just to let you know i am new to saltwater..have had freshwater for about 20 years, i was ready for a change..i think that i am off to a pretty good start but im having a problem understanding what lights i should get. i have had the tank setup since 11-05-05 so its early i know, but i want to be ready for fish and reef. my tank is 45 gal and the dimensions are Length36" Height(top to bottom) 23 1/2" Depth(front to back) 12 1/4" i dont want to spend a whole lot of money but i am willing to if it means getting good lighting. i can use all the help and suggestions that i can get... i have no idea where to start, and PLEASE keep the terminology simple im a little confused when it comes to all the numbers and letters associated with lighting..thanks a lot...i appreciate it!!!!

kraftyforu
11/08/2005, 12:12 AM
well most ppl will say that metal halide lights are the best. but then again there are other ppl that will say power compact lights are or T5 lighting is. it really all depends on what type of corals you want to keep.

Blown 346
11/08/2005, 01:50 AM
I can tell you from experiencing both Power compacts and halides, I have switched to Halides. Power compacts are a goos choice but you might not get the coloration you want and might have to add more Compacts to get the desired wattage.
They have 65watt bulbs and 96 watts which are popular. I used 4 96 watters over my 75 and didnt have a problem for the exception of replacing them every 6 months. At around $50 a light that got expensive fast. Other than that the lighting did a good job. It cost me $400 for the retrofit that goes in a canopy which included....
1. The reflector
2. The 4 96 watt bulbs, 2 daylight 10,000K and 2 actinic