PDA

View Full Version : Skimmer Advice

clickrs
10/06/2005, 12:05 PM
Okay, I need opinions, since I already have a crappy skimmer, I want one that will work.
I can get either a Aqua C or Turbofloator for about the same cost, which one is best (both r hang ons) and the least amount of teaking?
Any help is appreciated.

alannathanson
10/06/2005, 12:25 PM
I've heard good things about the AquaC Remora. You should get the pre skimmer box add-on to maximize production by skimming the protein rich surface layer of water.

Stixbaraca
10/06/2005, 01:28 PM
I have been using the AquaC Remora for over 2 years now and I swear by it! I am without a sump, and have to have a HOB skimmer...I wouldn't try anything else! There isn't anything you can tweak except raising or lowering the collection cup depending on the consistency you like your skimmate. As Alan says...get the preskimmer box. The surface layer is the most important to skim because the nutrients always rise to the top of the water column...plus the preskimmer box forces the exiting water through a sponge which catches all bubbles exiting the skimmer. If you go with the Remora opt for the Maxi-Jet 1200 instead of the RIO 800.
AquaC regularly has seconds of the Remora that they sell for $100!!! They are structurally sound but usually have a scratch or 2 on them, and they are fully covered under warranty!!! Their email is on their website www.proteinskimmer.com

clickrs
10/06/2005, 01:36 PM
thanx for that info. maybe I'll finally get things right in the aquarium, I can't believe my skimmer isn't skimming. I must have knocked something out of whack when I cleaned it.

crazyfingersmike
10/06/2005, 02:56 PM
Also check out the Coralife Super Skimmer

Ben
10/06/2005, 03:44 PM