PDA

View Full Version : Time it takes for MH to fire up?

denkigroove
03/01/2002, 11:50 AM
I have a remote ballast. Don't know the make and model (possibly a Hamilton). It's just a black metal casing with a switch on it. I'm using it on my pendant setup + a 10k bulb. My question is, how long does it usually take for a remote ballast to fire up?

Mine flickers and hums about 3-4 times over 15minutes before it completely fires up. Is this normal?

Skipper
03/01/2002, 01:31 PM
In my experience with the two that I have, I would say no...it does not appear normal. When the timer turns mine on, they make a noise which disappears within the minute. I am not sure what would be causing yours to do that, unless it has to do with the nipple inside the bulb. Let's see what a few other folks say about theirs.

TheJ
03/01/2002, 02:16 PM
I just set up my PFO HQI 150w yesterday so I'm new to MH, but this morning it only took about half a second to fire up. The bulb started glowing immediately, but I'd say it took about 45 seconds for it to start burning with intensity. No flicker whatsoever.

mirski57
03/01/2002, 02:58 PM
Mine take at least a full minute to fire up. I have a remote Hamilton Ballast with 2 x 175wat 10K MH's. It's been like this for a year now; never any different. First there's this rough chafing/gurrgling sound for about 2-3 seconds right in the beginning inside the ballast, then they begin to "warm up"

texasreefer
03/01/2002, 04:16 PM
Mine makes a noise when the timer turns on in the morning, but it only takes a minute or two to completely fire up. The noise of the ballast firing up in the morning is like a alarm clock for me. :)

Avi
03/01/2002, 04:46 PM
a few seconds of humming, and then the bulb is lit.

denkigroove
03/01/2002, 04:58 PM