PDA

View Full Version : Hyposalinity Question

rkl303
09/21/2005, 12:44 AM
Hey Dr. Ron this is my first time to your forum but it says your an expert on invertabrates and I thought I might ask my question here.

Anyways I was wondering why exactly hyposalinity kills ich? Is it because there is some special organ in ich that requires salinity at a certain level and not other animals? Or is it because other animals have developed organs that help them tolerate fluctuations in salinity? Is this organ or issue only found in invertabrates?

Basically I am wondering all of this because I am wondering if there is another way to treat for hydroids. I am thinking of trying to keep dwarf seahorses and I keep on reading that hydroids are the very detrimental to dwarf seahorses and was wondering if there were other ways of treating for hydroids instead of very high heated water or panacur(or hydrox).

Oh I guess I should address the question too if hyposalinity has any large effects on bacteria that provides nutrient processing filter on our tanks.

Richard

MCsaxmaster
09/21/2005, 02:44 AM
I'll let Dr. Shimek elaborate, but let me offer a few ideas. All aquatic organisms must osmoregulate (that is, control osmosis, the movement of water in and out of their bodies via this process). Most marine invertebrates have body fluids that are equivalent in the number of dissolved species (~have the same salinity) as the water they are in. Many of these animals haven't evolved sophistocated ways control how concentrated or dilute their body fluids are relative to the water they are in. So, for many of them, what's on the outside (in terms of number of ions, not necessarily types of ions) is what's on the inside.

Marine fish show very good osmoregulatory control. Actually, most marine fish have about 1/3 the concentration of ions in their blood as does an equivalent volume of seawater. They must constantly drink water and eliminate salt. The trend is for them to become too salty.