PDA

View Full Version : 20H FOWLR, MH and putting them together

lbussy
02/24/2002, 11:02 PM
I have a 20H to which I wish to add better lighting. Who knows, someday I might want to add corals (no idea what) but for now the immediate (one-2 month) plans are for about 20 lbs of Fiji LR. I want that purple stuff growing well and whatever other things I buy to be happy. pretty vague I know :P

I have a PFO retrofit MH system, 2X175W ballast with Mogul sockets and 2X175W Hamilton 10K bulbs sitting in the closet from a while back that have never been used.

I'm new to all this but I'm purty derned sure that both lamps is severe overkill for a 20H and will result in Hiroshima-style scorch marks in the shape of fish on the rocks. So.... I'm thinking using one MH over the tank. Here's where the question(s) comes in:

I have never done this so "It should work" and "try it" and "fiddle with it" are less help than a plan/place to start from. I know it's more art than science... but I can get artsy after I get a working model. :-)

My assumption is that one will be good (and not too much) and that I don't need actinic, correct?

I'm thinking MH is gonna boil water if it's too close. Another concern is light radiating into the room (you should have seen my wife's face when I turned them on). How can/should I mount this to minimize light in the room, minimize heat transferred to the water and minimize evaporation in such a small tank?

Yes, I know I'm asking for someone to make guesses and decisions for me. It's my first time and like I said all I need is a place to start. Any and all help will be appreciated.

PS... if anyone is in the KC, MO area and wants to volunteer a garage and a hand, I'll buy the beer. :-)

GH Sniper
02/25/2002, 11:32 AM
If you used both of them make sure you have Acro at the top !! ;)