PDA

View Full Version : Green algae out of control

crgianotti
09/08/2005, 06:20 PM
I am relatively new to reef/marine tank hobby. Problem: I have a lot of green, stringy algae that I don't know how to get rid of. Specs are as follows: 35 gal tank, protein skimmer (hang on the back), trickle filter (hang on the back with activated carbon and bacteria wheels), 25 lbs live rock, one clown fish (Nemo), temp 78-80 degress, nitrate tests at close to zero, sp. gravity is .0020 approx. Compact high intensity lamps, one 10k white, one actinic blue. I must admit my 10% weekly water changes are more like 20% every other week. I use tap water (unfiltered) for both water changes and evaporation replacement. I may have been overfeeding early on, but have changed in the last 3-4 weeks.

I have a colony of Red sea xenia (?) that is flourishing, one neon green candy cane coral. In addition, there quite a few polyps (I believe) that look like grass when they are out, quite nice, but put in at night.

I had a couple of polyps and one other fish (pygmie angel) as well, but they died when I accidentally allowed the tank to over heat--just after I got the high intensity lamps in July(ooops, didn't realize they produced such heat). Protein skimmer was added July 5 (at that time I removed the trickle filter), but then red algae started to cover the substrate, and junk started collecting on surface as well as green algae began to grow. I put the trick filter back in about 2.5 weeks ago, red algae has subsided, but green algae is hard to keep up with.

I keep the lights on for about 12-14 hours.

My problem is the green algae and the accumulation of scum on the inside of the glass. Can any one give me some advice? I would be forever grateful.

Chuck

lossman
09/08/2005, 06:54 PM