PDA

View Full Version : T5 lighting question

vessxpress1
09/08/2005, 02:22 PM
I didn't find the answer in the existing thread so I decided to post my own. Is 156 watts of T5 light better than 192 watts of PC light? ( 4 39s vs 2 96 PCs) I'm not familiar with it at all but the T5s seem to be getting great reviews. Now I wish I would have waited. Would it make a big difference if I switched? I'm really not a light expert.

NeilPearson
09/08/2005, 02:41 PM
I think for SPS the T5 would be better. For anything else, you are fine with the PC

reefwick
09/08/2005, 02:41 PM
Waterkeeper has a great thread about lighting. All the ins and outs. Do a search for it but I think its somewhere in the "new to the hobby" forum. If I remember correctly I think T5's are just sizes of the bulbs. I think people are liking them so much now because they can cram more of them in a hood. Check it out for yourself though. If I can get the thread for you I'll post it back here.

reefwick
09/08/2005, 02:46 PM
Here you go. The jist of it anyway. Still do the search and read the whole thing. It is such a great read and will answer all you questions about lighting.

Let’s get back to talking about the lamps themselves. Sometimes you smart@ss newbies vex my mind by asking a worthwhile question. Not too long ago someone asked, “ Why are T-5 fluorescents so much brighter and better than T-12?� Normally I can kind of wing it in these threads but, since I really didn’t know the answer, I had to do some, sin of sins, research. Indeed, there were claims of “new technology� surrounding these new “ you can’t do without them� fluorescents but what was the story?