PDA

View Full Version : New fish advice

Grooveman
09/08/2005, 09:26 AM
Helllo everyone,

I am a newbie, having just started my 24 Gallon Nano Cube, but I have already weathered a couple of storms in the 2 months that its been up (Mantis Shrimp that came in on a piece of coral and a complete tank replacement due to a crack in the glass). It has not been a cake walk but now after a couple of weeks all the tank inhabitants have settled down and the corals completely opened up. I need your advice on what other fish can be added to the tank as I would like to add 2-3 more if possible, the list of current inhabitants is as follows:

Tank Contents:

• 1 Pixy Hawkfish
• 1 Green Mandarin Dragonet
• 1 Blue Velvet Damsel
• 1 Fire Shrimp
• 5 Zebra Hermit Crabs
• 5 Blue Claw Hermit Crabs
• 9 Zebra Stripped Turbo Snails
• 1 Bi-Color Crab
• 1 Common Starfish
• 1 Colony Polyp, Encrusting - Gold
• 1 Colony Polyp, Green & Purple
• 1 Colony Polyp, Yellow
• 1 Green Brain Coral, Wellsophyllia
• 1 Elegance Coral
• 1 Green Starburst Polyp
• 1 Hammer Coral

The Pixy Hawk is the dominant fish in the tank and loves to investigate any movement in the tank, any advice on what I can add would be greatly appreciated.

overCee
09/08/2005, 10:12 AM
I'm new too, but I think you are pushing the bioload on that tank as it is. I would not recommend putting any more fish into it at all. In fact, unless you can get your Mandarin to eat frozen foods, I would be worried that it would starve to death once it eats all the pods in your tank.

reeferkid
09/08/2005, 01:19 PM
as overCee said the mandarin may starve to death if it does not learn to eat prepared food. IMO i think you could add something like a pair of percs or up to two fish of a similar size to percs but after that you would be maxed out in terms of bioload

Grooveman
09/08/2005, 04:54 PM