PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for some advice

new2sea
09/07/2005, 10:41 PM
First of all hello all! Looks like I found another great forum!

I am totally new to the hobby and just purchased a tank today. I have been reading and reading and I am grasping everything but its all the equipment that creates another learning curve and I want to get it right the first time or at least buy the right equipment. All of my LFS's are horrible, they dont stock more than one product each and nobody knows a thing so I have written them all off. Here is what i have planned and what areas I would like to here some peoples input.

I just bought a tank today with a canopy and stand, it's a 37 Gallon High. I am planning on using an in sump refugium setup with an AquaC Urchin Pro w/Rio 1400, a CPR S50 overflow box, 1200 wavemaker and thats about all I have figured out so far.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on a refugium And what size I should go with and where I could buy it.

Here is the space I have available:

Stand Inside space – 29 X 11 ½ X 25 Revel doesn’t come out but back is open.

Another thing I would like some help on is lighting, I want to do corals and more and believe Metal Halide is the way to go but once again i'm running into tons of options and having problems making decisions. The tank is 20" high

My lid space is:

Lid Inside space – 30 ½ X 12 ¾ X 5

Oh! Suggestions on a heater too please.

I would appreciate any input if anyone has the time.

Thanks in advance

new2sea

Blown 346
09/07/2005, 11:36 PM