PDA

View Full Version : How to setup new tank with cured live rock?

charliew0
09/06/2005, 09:06 PM
Hi,
I am ready to fill up salt water to my new tank(160G). This is my first time. I don't know if I am doing it right.

1. put 20 lb. live sand as seed in the bottom.
2. put 4" - 6" play sand on top.
3. fill 40 gallons salt water (well mixed for 24 hours).
4. put 50 lb live rock, these are cured live rock. I will buy them from other people's fish tank.
5. wait for 2-3 days to fill up rest of tank. (I need time to make water).
6. wait for ? days for sand clouds cleared out.
7. turn on powerhead, turn on skimmer, turn on filter.

Any thing wrong in my procedure?
Do I expect ammonia or nitrite going up?
Do I need change water weekly?
When can I add some snails, starts, hermit crabs?
When can I add some fishes?
What are hardy and cheaper fish I should start?
I am sure I will lost some life to build up my experience.

Please give some advice before I make mistake.
Thanks,

Charlie...

scottfarcuz
09/06/2005, 09:20 PM
Any thing wrong in my procedure?
Put the live sand on top. This will make a sandstorm less likely

Do I expect ammonia or nitrite going up?
Probably some. If you can transort the rock underwater and expose it to air as little as possible.

Do I need change water weekly?
Keep ammonia below 1ppm for the best survival rate of any hitchikers.

When can I add some snails, starts, hermit crabs?
I would wait atleast 3 weeks after no ammonia is showing up. No need to rush things early. Snails are delicate!

When can I add some fishes?
I would wait atleast 2 months personally. You will likely still have an algea/diatom bloom in these early stages. Wast producing fish will prolong and complicate things.

What are hardy and cheaper fish I should start?
I can't give good advice on this. Getting a fish out of a 160g later on that is a problem or you don't like is going to be a problem. research any fish very well before even thinking about buying one!