PDA

View Full Version : 12 gal eclipse tank?

Mimbler1
08/15/2005, 06:53 PM
Over in the reef discussion group, they suggested I post this question here:
A friend at work who has a large reef tank has asked me if an Eclipse 12 gal with a backpack skimmer on it would be adequate for a couple of ocellaris and some mushrooms. Although I have a lot of experience, it is with a 200 gallon reef, and I just don't know how well something that small would work. Is anyone running something similar, or have an opinion?
thanks, Mike

LTJGAlex
08/15/2005, 07:44 PM
That's it? Heck, I have a full reef in my Eclipse 12g. Some die-hard animalists might tell you it's too much, but that SHOULD be totally fine for that arrangement. Just make sure your parameters are good.

Sugar Magnolia
08/15/2005, 08:05 PM
Telling someone who keeps a large reef to make sure their "parameters are good " is a recipe for disaster in a nano. While a large reef system can go weeks with little to no maintenence, a 12 gallon tank could quickly go downhill. Most large reef keepers don't do weekly water changes, which is what keeps a nano reef's water params stable.

Mike, a 12 Eclipse will make a fine beginner tank, but ultimitely will be a roal PITA to mod out to incorporate a skimmer due to the way the filter assembly sits in the tank. I'm not saying it's not possible, just that it will be a pain. The lighting is another issue that you'll have to address. The stock lighting is nowhere near the strength you need to keep corals. Again, not impossible to change, but a pain. I kept an Eclipse 6 for about 6 months till I got annoyed with the lighting, filtration, and the acrylic.

IMO you'd be better off going with a standard 10 gallon AGA and a 96 watt powerquad or a MH fixture.

LTJGAlex
08/15/2005, 09:16 PM