PDA

View Full Version : MH Hood Issues

parkavenuereef
08/07/2005, 03:02 PM
I built my MH hood this weekend using 1 250 Hamilton 14k bulb.. soon to be 2 250W bulbs after this weekend. Anyways, I have a problem where my room seems to be getting more of the light than my tank does. the hood is 8 inches tall by 36 long. The bulb is right towards the bottom of the hood. If I lay down on my couch i am blinded by the light. the hood is about 4 inches off the top. The inside is lined with mirror glass... If anyone has any thought on the build that would be helpful.. Seems like the light is not as bright as it should in the tank...

Gary Majchrzak
08/07/2005, 03:10 PM
I'm not a pro hood builder, but I know a few basic things on the subject.
You'll want to have the MH lamps mounted closer to the top of your hood (especially if it's an "open" type) and spend the bux for some appropriate reflector material.

smoknreefrs
08/07/2005, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by Gary Majchrzak
I'm not a pro hood builder, but I know a few basic things on the subject.
You'll want to have the MH lamps mounted closer to the top of your hood (especially if it's an "open" type) and spend the bux for some appropriate reflector material.
thats it in a nut shell....

Gary Majchrzak
08/07/2005, 03:15 PM
Here's a related thread that makes for interesting reading on the subject:

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=602711&highlight=building+a+hood

parkavenuereef
08/07/2005, 03:30 PM
So I should mount the bulbs towards the top of the unit. Is the glass mirror not a good idea for reflector material??

jcanute
08/07/2005, 03:45 PM
thanks gary this is next on my list after plumbing.

Gary Majchrzak
08/07/2005, 04:14 PM
Reflector material is VERY important. Glass mirror is not a good choice for reflector.

smoknreefrs
08/07/2005, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by parkavenuereef