PDA

View Full Version : Which way? Live Rock delima!!!!

mmotown
08/03/2005, 08:02 PM
Hello again reefers. I had more time to type out my question in depth so I am hoping someone can explain the difference. I am new to this hobby. I have spent alot of money on the equipment and it has taken over a year to get everything together and now I am down to my last purchase. I live in Dallas TX and work in CA. I am going to have a local pet store maintain my tank semi-monthly. I can't buy uncured rock because I am not home to do the necessary water changes so I am left to buy cured rock. I was at fishsupply.com store in Hunington Beach CA. I was told I could buy 300lbs of Walt Smith from them which is 6.6 boxes (45lbs) @ $98/box. that came out to be about $646.00 plus 60lbs of sand and shipping had me at around $1k. They said they cured their rock by spraying it at their facility at LAX. I could put this in my tank and let it cycle for about a month as that is when I would be able to put live stock in it and I wouldn't minf the wait because it will allow me to save more money. Waiting a month would be good for me. I could go another way and buy fully cured live rock from Prem Aquatics at $3.99 a pound. They said it was not as coloful as Walt Smith's rock but retained more life because it is never out of water and they put it into curing vats etc. Going that route I am looking at $1197 + sand + shipping which is taking me to about $1457. Going the fishsupply.com way everything rock, sand, shipping is going to run me about $1100.00 (savings +- $500). Is there in quality difference in how each company handles thier rock? If spraying the rock still has to cycle that is not a problem for me. As long as the water changes can wait every two weeks. Which way would you go? Thanks for the input.

bertoni
08/04/2005, 01:53 AM