PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Attorneys in the House!

bulldog12
07/31/2005, 02:11 PM
Ok I need a little advice here. I signed a work order agreement with Carolina Gutter Magic for them to put up the gutter guard system for us. I am NOT the home owner. My dad owns this property. They have done a terrible job and lied all along the way about what they were going to do. I am going to talk with the owner tommorrow and tell them that I want this "you know what" off of my dad's house. My question: Do they have any legal recourse when I am not the home owner?

Thanks

Minuteman
07/31/2005, 02:49 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express...

I don't think who the homeowner is has bearing. You signed a contract with them to hang gutters on a house. You could have signed to hang gutters on the shrubbery, and the contract would still be between them and you. If there are workmanship issues, I'd suggest you take some pictures and take it up with the installers, then the company owners, then corporate (if there is one). IF you don't get satisfaction that way, I'd go to the BBB, then small claims. Key here is to get some detailed pictures and look over the contract to see exactly what it says about workmanship.

Good luck... never can tell how these will turn out.

Nina51
07/31/2005, 03:05 PM
i would say the same thing. since you signed the contract, it's between you and them. if it's a fly-by-night outfit, you'll probably be pi**in' up a rope but if they are reputable, they will want to make it good.

if you don't get anywhere with them, it would be worth 25 or 30 bucks to have an attorney write a simple "do this or else" letter. you'd be surprised how a letter like that makes people like that jump through hoops to please you.

bulldog12
07/31/2005, 03:10 PM