PDA

View Full Version : Skimmer and filter for a 20 gal Reef

Brooks_McClary
06/16/2005, 06:20 PM
I am putting together my wish list for building a 20 gal reef tank. I have been keeping a 5 gal reef with very good results for several months and now I want to get serious. I have some questions regarding my Skimmer/filter options...

1) Red Sea Prizm Deluxe Skimmer - Is this too big for a 20 gal? What is the GPH coming out of the unit? Does it work well enough to be worth the $$? Is it loud? I had a Skilter several years ago, it was worse than worthless and made a terrible noise.

2) I also want to put a mechanical/Chemical/Biological filter on the tank in addition to the skimmer. With the live rock (I'll have about 20 to 25 lbs in the tank) do I need a biological filter? My two options are:
-Emperor 280 BIO-Wheel Filter
or
-H.O.T. Magnum Pro System with Bio-Wheel.

Is this too much flow on the tank with the skimmer too? I want a HOB solution. I'm pulling my hair out!

Steven Pro
06/16/2005, 06:35 PM
1.) The Prizm skimmers are ok, but there are far better choices.
http://www.wetwebmedia.com/ca/cav1i1/protein_skimmer_impressions.htm

2.) I would not invest the money in a filter like this. Instead, consider a small refugium instead. CPR makes several models or you could build your own out of a Hagen power filter.

killagoby
06/16/2005, 08:46 PM
I had a Prizm and it sucked. I am using CPR's Dual BackPak now and I love it...

Brooks_McClary
06/16/2005, 08:46 PM
OK, you are the second person to recomend a refugium... What's the deal?!? I understand a fair ammount about the aquarum hobby but I guess this is over my head... Here is what I know:

1) It creates water movement.
2) You put live rock in it which acts as additional bio filtration and denitrification.
3) sand or mud in it... Additional bio filtration and denitrification.