PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ a leather toadstool

eggman
05/20/2005, 09:47 AM
Hello all
i have a very healthy looking leather toadstool for about 4 months. last night I noticed that the leather has what can only be described as a "bullet hole" on the back part of it's stalk...the skin around the hole is bleaching, the hole itself is about the diameter of a pencil eraser.

being a good reefer I immediatley went to Bourneman's Coral book, he describes this in the coral disease chapter as "Leather condition 1" and suggests Lugols and freshwater dips and excising the wound...now I'm an accountant NOT a surgeon and am extremely nervous about all this.

Has anyone else had this issue and how did you deal w/ it?
i know that leather toadstool as very hardy and can survive all kinds of trauma, but i have no idea where to start w/ this, so can someone hold my hand a little on this one?
thanks
egg

nicchick
05/20/2005, 11:33 AM
i have cut pieces off of my toadstool, and it recovers fine. how big of a chunk are you taking off?

eggman
05/20/2005, 11:45 AM
well the hole is right in the center of the stalk right below the crown...so I'm not sure what to do...I suppose i could just cut the stalk above the hole or just kinda cut around the hole and remove the necrosis...like i said i have no idea what to do

NicoleC
05/20/2005, 11:58 AM
Leathers are easy and heal well if you use a very sharp instrument so that it slices nicely instead mashing it to death.

*Put on gloves.
*Get a nice sharp Xacto knife with appropriately shaped blade.
*Remove coral from tank and place in bucket of tank water. Add Lugol's if desired.
*Quickly excise the diseased portion and throw away -- I wouldn't lop off the whole stalk unless it's a really large chunk of disease.