PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ Phosphate, Carbon etc. on SPS tank

kabboord
03/29/2005, 01:14 PM
I've kept a soft coral tank for the last two years and in an attempt to do something other than school work, I converted my tank to start growing SPS two weeks ago. I bought some kind of purple (?) cap and a green digi two weeks ago (despite some problems with calcium--unpredictable oceanic batch sent it up to 600! and my new lights gettin up to 85 for 3 hours one day) they've been growing great and seem healthy. The digi as a tiny frag with 3 white growth tips, and its already budded 6 little branch nubs and has about 10 little white growth tups now.

Since I'm new to SPS and adapting to the more stringint water quality requirements, I've got a few questions about phosphate, carbon, filter bags, kalkwasser and what not, and any help or direction in any of those will be much appreciated. Here are my tank permitters to help anyone asnwer some of my questions:
SG:1.023
Ph 8.35day-8.25 night
temp 80 +-.5
Alk dkh8.5-11.5
Phosphate nil- 0.2
Am-NO2 nil
NO3 nil-3
Calcium 410-460 +- 20
Mg 1250-1350
light 2 (250 14k) 12 hrs
tank 90gal sys. 110 gal
Water Changes 10-20gal every 1-2 weeks
Substrate 2-3 inches of large grained argonite
110 # of Gulf live rock
1, maroon clown, 1 flame angel, 1 yellow tang

Since I've just finished changing the tank to SPS I aggressively made sure I had zero phosphate. Since I don't really trust the substrate (but havent been able to remove it; aesthetics) and the grains are too big for anarobic benefits I blow any detritus of\out of the sand and rocks once a week.

Phosphate?
Every now and then I'll get a very low trace amount of phosphate on a test and run the Kent Phosphate sponge. What is the opinion of that product. Once I get a zero phosphate reading should I remove it, or leave it in for prophalactic reasons? How often should I test phosphate once I'm sure I have it all gone and how often will I need to use the kent product?

Carbon?