PDA

View Full Version : Sick clown (w/photos)

mfd78
03/25/2005, 01:13 PM
I got this guy about 5 days ago and he hasn't eaten yet although the other clown purchased at the same time is fine with flake and frozen brine. Yesterday, he developed this white patch by the mouth. I'm very new to all this and would appreciate any help ID'ing this. I do not have a hospital tank - just the 75 gal. he's in now. My tank is only about 6 weeks old and I only get 10ppm nitrates for readings. Am I leaving anything important out?

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63/mfd78/IMG_4940.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63/mfd78/IMG_4937.jpg
Thanks for any help you can give me!
Steve

km133688
03/25/2005, 04:01 PM
You might try adding garlic extreme to your flake food. This is considered a flavor enhancer and it is supposed to make fish want it more. It sure does smell like garlic. It is reported (though who knows), to have medicinal benefits.

darkclan
03/25/2005, 04:34 PM
The mouth area looks like it is affected by fungus growth. Treatment for this disease is difficult. Try an anti-fungal medication in a hospital tank. Food soaked in phenoxetol can also be effective if the fish is eating. The feces is long and white and stringy, so it might be a sign of capillaria worms. This can be treated with Paracide D.

clownlady
03/26/2005, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by darkclan
The mouth area looks like it is affected by fungus growth. Treatment for this disease is difficult. Try an anti-fungal medication in a hospital tank. Food soaked in phenoxetol can also be effective if the fish is eating. The feces is long and white and stringy, so it might be a sign of capillaria worms. This can be treated with Paracide D.

Not sure about the worms, but this does look a mouth fungus. Try Maracyn-Two in QT. Treatment with Maracyn-Two is not difficult at all.

Good Luck Friend!

:thumbsup:

mfd78
03/27/2005, 04:24 PM
Thank you for the input folks!