PDA

View Full Version : I need some info on montipora coral

plancton
03/18/2005, 01:03 AM
Hi, I am new in marine tanks, in fact the tank I want to have is still a project, I am gathering money and will have enough in 4 months to buy my 50 gallon.

Before I was thinking on having LPS only, since they are easier to keep, in fact I didn't like SPS. But soon I started to like SPS a lot, since the colors are so intense.

The only problem is that my 50 gallon is going to be under 384 power compacts. This could even be enought to keep acroporas if I would keep them at the top.

But from what I've read, they also need high current and other requirements. Plus in my opinion they need a lot of place and may be more suitable for bigger tanks.

But there is one that caught my attention, the famous montipora. IT is a sps, but it's much easier to keep. I would like to keep one purple and another orange. I read they require moderate lighting. I might want to keep even at the highest point of my aquarium, so the question is. Can it thrive unde 384 power compacts?, or that would be to intense for the poor guy at the top of the tank?

Mstamic
03/18/2005, 02:03 AM