PDA

View Full Version : New Copperband - help Quarantining

Playdope
02/11/2005, 09:43 PM
Just picked up a new copperband....and I'm drip acclimating it to the quarantine tank water right now. A few questions..

When should I first feed? I got frozen mysis for it... any other types you recommend? cyclopeeze was recommended, but they didn't have the squeeze bottle (only dried), so I was going to wait for the bottle later in the week.

Should I keep the lights off during the whole QT period? If not, when should they go on?

Should I put a blanket over the tank for the first day?

How often should I change water (it is a 29 gal tank, and I have a remora skimmer running on a it, and a sponge filter)?

Any other info I should know would be appreciated.. its my first time QTing.
Thanks!

Mekong
02/11/2005, 10:10 PM
If the fish is really tripped out then you might want to cover him and keep the lights off. Some fish could care less, others have problems.

Test and see when it needs to be changed, you will also notice when junk collects on the bottom when it needs to be changed. I did 2 small water changes every week when I had my dwarf fuzzy lion in the QT and same with my betta. On top of that I would check the level often and do a about 7-8g change on it every week or two.

Its also good to try and train the fish to get useto a feeding schedual and ritual. I started hand feeding my betta in the QT and now he has no problem eating, even though he is really shy most of the time.

Playdope
02/11/2005, 11:22 PM
Also wondering how much mysis I should feed per feeding session + how many times copperbands should be fed everyday?

And, should I use a net to tranfer it to the main tank? I dont want to injur its snout.

easttn
02/11/2005, 11:50 PM
Jon,