PDA

View Full Version : Plan for a 55

Nimmie
01/31/2005, 08:36 PM
Hi,
I'm a lurker here at Reef Central, and I've finally gotten the nerve to come out and ask some questions. :)
I'm new to SW (have been doing FW for about 3 years, and planted tanks for a year) and I've decided to set up (when I can earn the money) a 55 gallon reef.
I've been researching for a year or so (on the internet mostly, especially this site), and I've also got a few books.
I want to start with FOWLR, and then perhaps after 6 months-1 year start adding some soft corals and other invertebrates. I plan on getting my live rock from liveaquaria.com.
I've been looking at some lighting choices, and I found a metal halide/PC combination hood that looks like it might work. (http://bigalsonline.com/catalog/product.xml?product_id=30710;category_id=1863;pcid1=1843;pcid2= ) It's got 2x150 watt 10,000 k Metal Halides, and 2x96 watt actinics, which when I calculated it is at 8.9 watts per gallon. I've heard to grow most corals you need at least 6 watts, is 8 too much?
I'd like to eventually grow Nemenzophyllia turbida, Pachyclavularia sp., Blastomussa merleti and corals with similar requirements. Also, some day (when I have a LOT more experience ;) ) I'd want to try an anemone.

I was also planning on going with the Red Sea Prizm Deluxe skimmer. Do you think that'll be enough?

I thought I might try to set up a 20 gallon sump underneath the tank. I have a pretty basic understanding of this, and I think I could do it.

And lastly, stocking. I thought perhaps a pair of ocellaris clowns, a firefish, a small group of pajama cardinalfish and, someday, a dwarf flame angel.
Because I'm still in school, it's going to take me quite a while to come up with the money for this project, which I think is good because I'll have time to learn.
Thanks in advance,
Claire

phil519
01/31/2005, 09:07 PM
Claire...
[welcome]