PDA

View Full Version : pH and alkalinity are out of control

knumbnutz
01/31/2005, 01:55 PM
I have been maintaining a nanoreef for about three years with some success, and my dad has been at it for 4 years with a 75 gallon bow front.
He recently purchased a calcium reactor and to the best of my knowledge has it dialed in at 6.8pH on the outflow. His pH in the tank dropped to about 7.8 and he has been buffering to raise the pH and now the alkalinity is out of control.
Of course he won't listen to me, I told him to leave it alone, but his constant meddling is killing a beautiful piece of frogspawn and this fish seem stressed. Testing of the pH is done with a pH meter that I personally calibrated to make sure it was giving accurate readings. I believe the alkalinity test is Kent Marine and the last measure ment was 23.5. Which seems off the scale to me {since the target is 4.5}, but he swears by it.
I have been so frustrated trying to help him with his tank and maintain a reef he is ready to call it quits, so any advice would be helpful. How do you get a severe ionic imbalance back to reef safe conditions and any steps to save the frag spawn? It was doing so well I wish he would leave it alone!!!

CWW

knumbnutz
01/31/2005, 01:56 PM
That last part should read frog spawn, I would like to frag it some day, but he has to keep it alive first.

CWW

Stevan
01/31/2005, 02:04 PM
When I screwed up my water the same way I started adding CA part of a 2 part additive and the excess ALK precipitated out over a weeks time.

WaterKeeper
01/31/2005, 02:07 PM
CWW,