PDA

View Full Version : An Introducation of Sorts

Frostz320
01/31/2005, 08:46 AM
:strooper:
Hey all, my name is Gabriel. I'm pretty new to this whole hobby. My roommate has a tank that he's had for the last couple of years; however it didn't really have much in it until about a couple days ago. Please bare with me as I don't know a lot of the names of the creatures but here's what I know...

*45 gallon tank
*40 lbs live rock
*3ft light x2
*10-12 snails
*4 scarlet hermits
*1 emerald crab (mine)
*1 blue-legged hermit (mine)
*1 blue damsel
*2 other small fish the size of the blue damsel
*2 black damsels
*1 flame angel (mine)
*1 crab
*1 spider crab
*1 spotted tipped mushroom coral
*1 piece of coral that looks like it has tentacles coming out the top.

If you guys can provide any information on what to get or how to improve the tank, I would be grateful. Also, I can't get my Flame angel to eat, even with some of that "Seaweed Selects: Green Marine Algae" clipped in the tank. Thanks in advance for the help!

shealygg
01/31/2005, 09:06 AM
[welcome]

I would probably ditch some of the damsels...they can be very aggressive and your FA may be intimidated. Wait and see some other replies. You've definitely found the best place to learn and ask Qs.

shealygg
01/31/2005, 09:08 AM
Also, you said that this tank didn't have much in it until a couple of days ago....how about elaborating on that little more. Let us know what's changed about the tank recently. That may provide more insight.

Frostz320
01/31/2005, 09:22 AM
Sure thing, when I moved in to the apt in Aug '04 we had the blue damsel and a small white fish with yellow fins (same size as blue), the 4 scarlet hermits, a regular crab, the snails, the two corals and about 35 lbs of live rock.

About two weeks ago, my roommate bought another 5 lbs of live rock, the two black damsels, a small tiger looking fish (size of the blue) and the spider crab.