PDA

View Full Version : Nitrate Issue

Scuba Oz
01/30/2005, 09:58 PM
Ok, as you know I am new to this reef stuff, So I have one heck of a question.

1) I have read a million times on RC to get rid of the "bio material"

A) How come every LFS and friend has this "bio material" and have the BEST looking corals I have ever seen? AND they have had the SAME corals for years not weeks or months!!!!!!!!!!!!

2) They all use this forbidden "Oceananic Salt"

B) They have NO algea break outs, No ammonia when mixed, no CRAP whatso ever!!

3) They DONT use Salifert test kits, and when I bring MY SALIFERT kits over they read the same, and to be fair in some occasions close! (FAST test) (Hagen) (and belive it or not those test strips) are dead on, the reast not even close.

So, what is the deal here?? I have read until my eyes are blurry, and it sounds like most of it is just malarky, You like this, you like that, well is there any proof why you bash this and bash that!!

NOT from my hours on this forum!!!!! How many people like CPR Bak Paks verus AquaCRemora's. I bet we could have a 100 page debate over this.

I think we BASH (yes "we" I belong here) to many vendors that DONT subscribe here, there are MANY products that are good, many ideas that are GREAT, why do we bash one from the other? I started looking, and found that the ones we BASH dont advertise here, or DONT want too!! weird!!!!

Look I am in NO WAy bashing RC. I love this site, and all it has taught me. The threads are great ect, But has anyone ever thought like I have now? Come on.

parliament28
01/30/2005, 10:05 PM
So what does this have to do with a nitrate issue?

In all due respect, a lot of the people that recommend these things are the best of the best in reefkeeping. Take a look at the tanks of the people who are recommending these things to you. Some just regurgitate information that they've read, but almost all of these recommendations are based on experience, which in the end is all we have to go on.