PDA

View Full Version : Damsels ?

Chileanguy
01/29/2005, 04:25 PM
Hi there,I just add two grey damsels to my tank and I have a blue one for a long time and this old one looks like he doesnt get along with the new arrivals, my question is ,Can you put two different kind of damsels together or not.
thanks for all the imputs that I have being getting from this forum.
Paul

drjrose
01/29/2005, 04:42 PM
Damsels are very territorial and will fight with most other fish. Chromis are the exception and they will even school peacefully.

bermudadiver
01/29/2005, 05:36 PM
evil, evil, eeeviiilll fish. i refuse to put any in my tank after having to tear all the rockwork out to catch the damsels I put in there when I was a noob.

never again.

fservillon
01/29/2005, 05:40 PM
same here. i had one yellow, one yellow tail blue and one three striped damsels in my 55 gal. after witnessing all three of them continually harrass and i think eventually kill my royal gramma, i broke my tank down so i can take the damsels out. damsels are not good in community tanks. hth.

JENnKerry
01/29/2005, 07:50 PM
The old one has his territory established and by nature he's defending it. You can have different damsels together. Try turning out the lights and re-arranging the rocks. When the lights come back on there will be new territory to be established. But at least the new ones will have a chance ya know?

DaddyJax
01/29/2005, 07:54 PM
Agreed with JENnKerry!! Lights out and move rocks is about it butdo you REALLY like damsels? Cause they will beat the cr@p out of almost any other fish you put in!

reelfreak
01/29/2005, 08:11 PM
Sounds like "being a damsel" is a good thing then!!!