PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with maintenance questions

JoeF
12/12/2001, 05:54 PM
I'm new to the reef aquarium hobby and haven't bought any equipment yet because I'm still trying to learn everything I can. Can you tell me how much maintenance is involved? I'm interested in finding out how much maintenance the average reef aquarium owner does to maintain a good system. How often do you do water changes and how much? How often do you test the water for PH, specific gravity, ammonia, nitrates , nitrites, phosphates or whatever else you do. About how many hours per week is spent in maintenance?

I recently read a book called "The Reef Tank Owner's Manual" by John H. Tullock. After reading the book he says that some water changes are necessary every 3-4 days so that 20% of the water is changed every month & that testing for nitrates should be done weekly.

Physh1
12/12/2001, 06:50 PM
Here is my maintenance schedule that I've used for a few years on my tanks and customers tanks....

--10-20 percent every 3-5 weeks.
--Dripping a form of calcium....like kalkwasser/turbo cal/seachem calcium/etc....to make up for evaporation on a constant basis.
--Alkalinity buffers and minor/major elements (personally I use Reef Solution) and Lugols solution on a weekly basis.

In new tanks testing and fiddling is time consuming....aka your getting a feel for how your system is going to establish itself. Within a few months you tend to feel your system and can cut back on testing so often and tin kering less. I spend about 1-2 hours weekly on the tank. Probably less. I spend hours and hours looking at it though. Once set-up and set-up CORRECTLY they are really not a huge chore. Setting them up correctly is REALLY IMPORTANT. Take your time and ask questions.....

Cameron

Nagel
12/12/2001, 10:22 PM
Well, so far you are doing good, your educating yourself!

Maintenance varies from tank to tank, size differences, bioload, and how you feed can all affect what maintenance is needed.