PDA

View Full Version : Marine Goop

mhornsby858
01/11/2005, 01:30 PM
Is Marine Goop safe to use in glueing PVC joints? It says do not use it for aquariums, but an article I just read on reefkeeping says its ok? Will it release harmful chemicals into the water even if its dry?

Also, off topic, I have Oolitic sand and its been in the tank for 8 months now and the other day I had to push some sand back into a hole my Sebae started to dig and it felt weird, kind of clumpy, like wet newspaper pulp, is that normal? I have read somewhere that Oolitic sand does something that other sand does not.

Randy Holmes-Farley
01/11/2005, 04:18 PM
I'm not actually sure what Marine Goop is or what all may be in it (I did look at their web site), so it is a little hard for me to say much. I've never used it before. Which article referred to it?

Anyone used it?

Sometimes aragonite sand can clump, even to the state of being brick like. New setups and high pH seem to be the most common situations where it happens.

jfinch
01/11/2005, 05:22 PM
IME, it's ok to use. No harm, no foul.

mhornsby858
01/11/2005, 06:54 PM
Thanks.

Randy here is the article

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-02/eb/

under the adhesives section

Hobster
01/11/2005, 11:13 PM
If I might ask? If you are glueing pvc why use Goop and not just pvc cement?

mhornsby858
01/12/2005, 12:21 AM
Actually I made a fitting that three 1/2" robo tube attachments with flares fit into which then fits over the 2" exit of a auto toilet flusher DIY surge device. The Goop glues the three fittings into holes in the main fitting. With three robo fittings I can have current flow in three directions making it more turbulent. The Dried Marine Goop will be in contact with tank water.

mhornsby858
01/12/2005, 12:23 AM
Hobster you live in West Palm? Looks like peanut island in your icon picture.

Randy Holmes-Farley
01/12/2005, 08:19 AM