PDA

View Full Version : breeding clownfish

jcreef
12/29/2004, 07:18 PM
I am new to reef keeping. I have only been doing it for about a year. Needless to say "I'm hooked". My tank is coming along very well. I know that my water quality is good. My nitrates are pretty non-existent, I do water changes 3 times per month and I have a healthy Butterfly. Anyways, I am going to try and breed clownfish. I currently have an adult Tomatoe Clown. I just purchased a juvenile. It only had 2 stripes on it when I bought it. That kind of has me worried because I need him to stay male in order to breed with the one I already had. I read that juvenile clowns are born with 3 stripes and within 4 months they are down to just one. During this time if a female is present the juvenile is supposed to remain male. I am definitly trying to create a natural atmosphere by providing them with a Long Tentacle Anemone and some other corals. I feel like I am on the right track to setting them up to mate later but I am not sure. I was hoping someone here may have done this before and can tell me how you did it. I am looking forward to hearing from any of you regarding this subject or any other aquarium related topics.

bertoni
12/29/2004, 07:39 PM
The breeders' forum has a huge amount of information on this subject. Joyce Wilkerson's book on clownfish also covers the subject pretty well, and it's a very pretty book, too. I'd start there.

AnemicOak
12/30/2004, 01:14 AM
There is also a Clownfish specific forum here that has tons of good info.

Reefmedic79
12/30/2004, 01:17 AM
http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/526049513Reefnut_welcome.gif <br><b><i><big><big>To Reef Central</b></i></big></big>

vince R
12/30/2004, 12:37 PM