PDA

View Full Version : Stuck float switch overdoses tank

johnfr
12/23/2004, 08:33 PM
For all you DYI'ers out there.

Here is a lesson to learn from me. I have a peristaltic pump that I use to add lime water topoff. To activate the pump I have a float switch in my sump to turn on my pump when the level drops below a given level. This switch energizes a 12 volt DC relay that turns on the pump's 110V source.

As an experienced Electrical Engineer I should have remembered that when a relay de-energizes it generates a large voltage spike that can easily weld the contacts of small reed type switches closed. Last night I came home to find my sump and refugium on the verge of overflow and my limewater resevour nearly empty.

The solution is that one should always connect a diode across the relay coil (connect to the banded end of the diode to the relay coil that is connected to the positive voltage. The unbanded end connects to the other side of the relay coil.) This diode suppresses the voltage spike and prevents welding of the switch contacts. I used a 1N2003 diode.

Randy, a question for you.

When this happened I added 3 cups of white vinegar to reduce the PH ASAP. Previous to this my Cal was running around 420 and Alk around 2.45. Tonight (24 hrs after the overdose) I tested the water and found the Cal at 390 and Alk at 2.3. I estimate that the welded switch added about 15 gal of pure saturated kalk water. My overall system contains about 220 gallons of water. I would have expected this to significantly raise the cal & ak levels but instead they dropped. Does the rise in PH as Kalk is overdosed cause calcium to precipitate out and therefore cause an overall reduction in Cal & Alk levels?

Thanks,

Johnfr

johnfr
12/23/2004, 08:38 PM
Randy, one other detail I failed to mention. Tonight the PH was right at 8.2 where it normally runs.

Johnfr

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/24/2004, 08:48 AM
Thanks for the info, John. :)