PDA

View Full Version : can someone please explain some things for me about lighting

Seifer
12/22/2004, 10:52 PM
i am new to saltwater, i am researching to build a 20gal maybe 29gal reef tank.

one of the most confusing things ive had to try and figure out is the proper lighting for a small reef tank. at first i just thought you needed 4 or 5 watts per gallon, and it didnt really matter what kind of light it was.

but now i read around and theres power compacts (what i was planning to use), VHO (not really sure what these are all about) and Metal Halide (something i dont think i can afford to do)

anyways, i was reading about different types of corals and how they each require different lighting. for instance i heard someone say you need a t5 light (dont have a clue what the hell that is) or a VHO light to grow that. And then i heard someone say SPS or something corals need a metal halide bulb and other stuff to grow.

I know i am a noob and i dont plan on jumping right into growing SPS coral but eventually i want to become an advanced aquariast. ive been in freshwater for years and i know how important it is to be educated if you want success in your tanks. thats why i would like some people to recommend the most cost effective way to grow corals and make sure my tank inhabitants are well cared for.

my goal is to be able to grow LPS corals in the next 6months or so. I plan to start with some easier soft corals and mushrooms at first, if that goes ok i might consider some more advanced stuff. But i want to be prepared from the start.

I was thinking about just getting 2 power compact strips and using that. that should give me 11watts per gallon if i go with a 20gal. is this too much? anyways any information would be very greatly appreciated.

Acolin
12/22/2004, 11:53 PM