PDA

View Full Version : Please help.. Lighting for a 30 gallon L

Auricom
11/23/2004, 12:44 PM
I'm trying to decide on lights for my 30 gallon tank. 36x12x16. I am looking toward Metal halides so that I can use them when I upgrade to a 110 + gallon in a year or two. I will have corals, a few fish, an anemone, and maybe a maxima clam in my current setup.

I've been told to look at the coralife aqualight pro(36" comes with 1 150w hqi, 2 actinic pcs and 2 moonlights).

Or build my own with 2x175 MH 10K and actinic fluorescents or 20k xm or 2x110w VHO super actinics with 10k mh.

I am completely new to all this, so it's hard for me to interpret. I've researched until my head is pounding.

Can someone help me with all this? What has worked for you, what hasn't worked. Pictures would be great if you have any.

Thanks so much!
Auricom

Dubbin1
11/23/2004, 12:58 PM
Go with the MH setup just to save you money down the road when you wish you would have done it.

Auricom
11/23/2004, 01:08 PM
Ok, so which one.. and will I need supplements? Will supplements need their own seperate ballasts?

Sorry, I reallly am new to all this. :confused:

paine43
11/23/2004, 01:10 PM
i was looking into getting a new lighting system as well, with having a 12 wide tank it's going to be hard to fit vho's in with the MH retros. Most mh reflexors are 10 to 12 long. If you were to buy one reflexor it may work but you will need to use t5's as they are smaller then vho's. it all depends on how much money you want to spend.

Auricom
11/23/2004, 01:57 PM
So since I can probably only fit the MH retrokit, I should probably go with 1 or 2 175w 20k xm?

catdoc
11/24/2004, 11:40 AM