PDA

View Full Version : My battle against hair algae . . . . .

dsp78213
11/22/2004, 11:55 PM
OK, so I am new to this saltwater stuff and I have a problem with hair algae. After reading post after post after post on RC about the subject I decided to attack this problem on several fronts.

Here are a few pics of the problem taken tonight (11.22) (from left to right in my tank)

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/55871algae.jpg

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/55871algae2.jpg

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/55871algae3.jpg

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/55871algae4.jpg

First, why is it a problem in the first place (listen fellow noobies). Here is my assessment:

1) I used tap water at the beginning. OK, there are several people who have used tap and everything is fine. I used tap and it isn't.

2) I got lazy on the water changes. At first, I was like clock work. I need to get back on that schedule and stay on it for a while. I have actually let three weeks go by with no change. Now, you might be able to get away with that if your other husbandry skills are superb; mine, however, are not, yet.

3) My params got out of whack - likely due to the two aforementioned problems. Anyway, at the outset of this battle, I did some tests. Here were the results:

Amm - 0 ppm
NO2 - 0 ppm
NO3 - .5 ppm uh-huh
PO4 - 1 ppm ouch
Si - 0 ppm
dKH - 6.7 ouch
Ca - 490 hmmmmmmmm.
PH - didn't test :rolleyes:

4) I have some murderous Mantis in the tank. They have offed several snails and hermits. :uzi:

5) Other factors - I use a filter sock and don't change it enough.

6) I might have an undersized skimmer. I have a Euroreef ES5-2 rated for upto 75g), but my total volume is close to if not slightly above 70g so that's kinda close. But I had space issues in my stand sooooooooo . . . . not sure what I can do here.

7) I had my lights on for about 10 hours a day. There are still new but that's too long.