PDA

View Full Version : Brand new, first post, seeking advice

autofish
11/22/2004, 08:08 PM
Hello,

I am setting up my first saltwater tank. My background includes over 12 years of freshwater experience, but I have zero saltwater experience.

The tank: I'll be using a 60 gallon hex. It is a relatively deep tank. Lighting is (3) 15 watt full spectrum fluorescents, this is the "basic" lighting that came with the tank. Filtration is wet-dry with mechanical on top (I use pillow stuffing from the craft store, it's cheap) , bioball trickle under that & my pump (Danner Supreme Mag-Drive) pushes about 750gph. Sump holds about 30 gallons of water.

What I want: A basic, newbie saltwater tank. Some clown fish & various other easy to keep fish to get me started. Lots of live rock to stack would be cool.

Questions:

- What sort of substrate? Sand with critters that dig around and play in it would be fun so long as it doesn't end up looking terrible after awhile.

- Any advice on setting up/cycling the tank for the first time?

- Any advice on the type of fish to put in it, what to feed 'em, etc?

- Hardware, is there anything else I need? Do I need a powerhead circulating water underneath? Do I need an air pump of any kind? (please say no. They're loud and I don't want one if I can help it) Anything else?