PDA

View Full Version : Water Changes???????????

RayRay28576
11/22/2004, 02:24 PM
What exactly are water changes for?

BarkingCrab
11/22/2004, 02:29 PM
Hi:

I'm new at this too, but my understanding is to remove waste material (nitrate) and add back materials like calcium, etc. Of course, in some reef setups folks dose to maintain calcium, etc, but you'll find that info here if you do some reading.

-Chris

ab5ebdxer
11/22/2004, 02:29 PM
They export waste and replace many elements in the water that are depleted by organisms and skimmers.

thrlride
11/22/2004, 02:32 PM
As water evaporates it leaves behind all the trace elements in the water. Over time those elements get to dangerous levels that are hazardous to your fish and corals. Water changes removes these elements.

albinooscar
11/22/2004, 06:24 PM
Originally posted by thrlride
As water evaporates it leaves behind all the trace elements in the water. Over time those elements get to dangerous levels that are hazardous to your fish and corals. Water changes removes these elements.

If you keep your water topped-off the trace elements do not get to dangerous levels, rather they get depleted thus the reason for dosing, unless your talking about fish waste and nitrates which really aren't referred to as trace elements. Some of the trace elements are used by the life in the tank also.

#1 reason is for water changes is to export unwanted nutrients and nitrates.

Just my opinion.

Ron

RayRay28576
11/23/2004, 06:36 PM
Would it be possible for me to keep anemones or corals if I have 220 watts power compact lights on a 20gl aquarium, do a 10% water change each week, and have a canister filter that does up to a 75 gl aquarium? The reason I ask is because I really dont want to use my protein skimmer because it puts alot of bubbles in my water, so will it be possible with the things I named and not the protein skimmer?

RayRay28576
11/24/2004, 01:11 PM
BUMP!

Fenix
11/24/2004, 01:17 PM