PDA

View Full Version : Dog Faced Puffer (Saltwater setups in general)

Acecobra180
11/22/2004, 10:35 AM
Hi everyone,

I have been keeping freshwater fish on and off for about 15 years. I have recently purchased a 180gallon tank for my Oscars and such. This leaves me with a couple of empty tanks, a 30g and a 55g.

On a recent visit to my LFS I came across a dog faced puffer, I had never seen one before and instantly fell in love. I will admit straight off that I dont have a great knowledge of saltwater fishkeeping. I am however willing and eager to learn. I dont want to go and ask my LFS as they are in this business to make money and would probably sell me a whole bunch of stuff I dont need.

So I am basically asking if any of you guys can give me any guidance on what I will need to succesfully keep this fish.

Is the empty 55g big enough in your opinions?
What type of filtration system would be needed?
What type of lighting?
Is there anything else that could share the tank with it, ie. more fish, corals or inverts?

If it is not a good starter fish then I would be willing to start at the beginning and work my way up to it.

Thanks in advance.

Farm_her78
11/22/2004, 10:59 AM
100 gal min.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Display.cfm?pCatId=222

Acecobra180
11/22/2004, 11:06 AM
Thanks for the link, my LFS said a 55g would be fine. So I guess it proves that they will tell you anything to get a sale.

I guess I will have to forget about the DFP for the moment, I simply dont have the room for another large tank.

The more I have been looking through pics of tanks in the forums the more I am thinking that this might be a blessing in disguise. Those tanks with the little clown fish and corals are stunning.

Could I use the 55g for some sort of fish and coral setup? If so again what would be the best setup options?

Could you suggest some fish that would get on and live happily in that type of environment?

febeast
11/22/2004, 11:11 AM