PDA

View Full Version : Water level

patsan
11/21/2004, 06:48 PM
We just got our new tank filled and turned it on for the first time. It is loud.
I'd like to know how much water should be in the sump? It seems like more noise is coming from the water dropping into the sump area than from the water going down the overflow.:confused:

gitsumpottery
11/21/2004, 07:12 PM
How much does your tank overflow when you turn the return pump off? Figure that out and add saltwater to your sump below that, so if the power turns off you won't overflow your sump.

You basically want enough room in your sump for the overflow water from the tank when the return pump is turned off.

Zac

patsan
11/21/2004, 07:18 PM
Thanks Zac. I have plenty of room to add more water then. I just have no idea as I am totally new to this.
As soon as my skimmer is delivered, will I have to remove water from the sump once I put it into it, or will the water level be the same with the skimmer in it.
I also figured I should get the temperature up before adding the salt. Is that right?

gitsumpottery
11/21/2004, 07:29 PM
If your skimmer is an in sump skimmer you should be able to add it in while the tank is running. I added my euro-reef into my sump and swapped out my hob skimmer without turning the pump off. The skimmer will fill its body with tank water, so check to see how the sump level changes.

If you just have water running right now with sand, rock (I hope not if you don't have salt in it yet), you can add some salt now, but once the tank gets to temp the salinity changes a bit, so just add a little less now and adjust once temp is reached.

Then get it ready for your liverock!

Do you have compartments in your sump?

Zac

patsan
11/21/2004, 07:42 PM
I only have water in it now. I plan on ordering TampaBaySaltwater sand and rock.