PDA

View Full Version : Is my LFS leading me in the right direction?

jcoopergd
11/20/2004, 06:04 PM
Hello all! I've been reading this site for about a month, and thought time id post some of my questions.

I've been considering getting a tank for a while now, 1+ years, and have done a decent amount of research. I took the plunge last Sunday, and got 40 gal long tank.

My LFS is a very saltwater oriented store, and we've always had great luck with our FW fish and supplies, along with all of our other animals and supplies from the store.

On our first trip, we purchased a 40 gal tank, stand and hood, an aquaclear 500, aqua clear 300, 200 w submersable heater, 20lbs of live sand, and some LR, and a 10k flourescent the LFS said would support mushrooms and polyps. (We plan on upgrading to MH in the near future when the tank is populated.)

We set the tank up immeadiatly, and filled the tank with water. Added salt, and heated the water to temp. Once water was stable and SG was good, i added the live sand, and LR.

I also broke some branch LR into small pieces to use in the filters in the bottom level.

Of the LR we put in, we put in some uncured rock (had a nice fishy smell to it), in order to introduce the ammonia spike to cycle the tank. (This was as the LSF suggested)

Now, one week later, we got our spike, and now ammonia is very close it not at 0. Or SG is still holding perfect, as is the Temp. Nitrites are still presnt, but dropping daily.

Now for the questions -

The LR that i have is Fiji LR. But i would love to get some TBS LR in the tank, as we still have plenty of room for more rock, and i would love some hitchikers. Is it a cardnal sin to mix flordia aquacultered rock with fiji rock?

Next question - I plan on having a reef tank, with only a few small fishes to complement. I have read that skimmers are not good for reef tanks, as they take out the metals of the water, and corals like the metals. Do i need a skimmer?