PDA

View Full Version : Scooter Blenny + other questions

Gunthr
08/24/2004, 09:07 PM
More specifically, Synchiropus ocellatus.

Background info: I have a 15 gal tank, maybe 2 months old, with one small RBTA hosting one small Clarki Clown, 4 peppermint shrimp, 2 Aptaisia that will be gone by the weekend, one Mithrax crab and a few grazer snails. I love it, but something is missing.

I have about 20 lbs excellent LR, and one inch Live Sand in the bottom. There is a lot of small stuff on the rocks that look like tiny feather dusters, plus some plants I haven't identified yet.

This tank is filtered by a large Emporer Power filter with two bio-wheels, and an in-tank Enheim orbit powerhead filter thingy. I have 65 + watts over it, (65 watts of 50/50... 10K/Actinic, and I think about 10 watts gro-lux or whatever.)

Anyway, I am a total newby to marine tanks, but I think this tank is getting to be fairly stable, maybe near the end of the brown diatomacious algae stage. I'm currently not interested in hard corals.

I'm thinking about buying a small Scooter Blenny.

My question is, would this creature be happy in my setup? I am sure that I am willing to commit to special feeding, but I realize that I don't really know what is required for these little guys.

I do %15 percent water changes each week. Will my set up handle that Blenny?

Is a ten gallon sump tank a crazy idea for my 15 gal? Should I get a skimmer?

As far as my end goal, I won't ever be going to a larger size of display tank. This is it. So, considering my limits, can I make a happy place for a Scooter Blenny in my tank? (They have so much personality!)

Thank you for any information...

davetkoch
08/24/2004, 09:29 PM
Awesome fish but not sustainable in a 15 gallon IMO, UNLESS you are ABSOLUTELY sure that he will take prepared food. Otherwise, they are capable of wiping out pod populations easily in such a small tank.