PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Monti Caps-

Mitch Sabat
08/19/2004, 09:06 PM
I'm new to keeping SPS corals. I looking for Monti caps that grow upward and look like saucers spiraling up. I'm sorry that I do not know the correct genus for this coral.
I would prefer red, orange, purple, green with purple rim and any other interesting colors anyone has to sell.
I would like to purchase pieces that are 4/5 inches & bigger.
Also any LPS that may have these -please let me know.
Thanks
Mitch

Racenrich
08/19/2004, 11:20 PM
Mitch,
you may want to try to get small frags, 1" and 2" size and see if you have the setup to maintain sps or lps corals.
A 4 to 5 inch Coral can take quite abit of time to develope and grow. I started with small frags ones and have watched them grow into 3 and 4 inch colonies, and as expected, i did 1 or 2 along the way.
Save you cash for a good skimmer.

Cheers and Good luck! :)

Racenrich
08/19/2004, 11:21 PM
Mitch,
you may want to try to get small frags, 1" and 2" size and see if you have the setup to maintain sps or lps corals.
A 4 to 5 inch Coral can take quite abit of time to develope and grow. I started with small frags and have watched them grow into 3 and 4 inch colonies, and as expected, i did lose 1 or 2 along the way.
Save you cash for a good skimmer.

Cheers and Good luck! :)

makoshark
08/20/2004, 08:05 AM
FWIW - I bought a frag of a red Montipora Capricornis that was the size of a nickel less than a year ago and now it is 5" across. Plus, since I have it in a corner it's conforming its shape to that corner which would be impossible with a full colony. Good luck!

MiddletonMark
08/20/2004, 08:11 AM
Agreed on the frags ... they will grow into nicer corals IMO if you start with something small and let it swirl in your tank. Stability makes great growth.

Plus, they're mighty fragile. Hard to get in large pieces - though not impossible.