PDA

View Full Version : First Fish Disaster

TCC
07/16/2004, 01:04 PM
Hi folks,

Please take a look at my thread I posted over in the newbie forum.
http://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=403574

I bought the fish at Pet Connection and all the Percs in the tank looked really good and active. I don't think it was a problem with their fish. Does that LFS have a pretty good reputation in reality?

Any thoughts on what I might have done wrong? I described how I acclimated the fish. I'm curious if that seemed right.

I have a lot of experience with FW tanks and this is my first foray into SW and really know absolutely nothing. I've obviously done something very wrong here.

BTW- I've been a little lurker on your board for a couple of weeks. I plan on checking out the club at tonight's meeting and joining up. I look forward to meeting you.

Thank you

duec22
07/16/2004, 01:56 PM
I had the same thing happen when I fist added clowns.. The I got my first clown from PetCon. and at the time they only have a couple so I only got one. It did just fine, I went back in the day that they got a new shipment to find my new clown a mate. That fish did not fair as well..It was dead within hours...I think from stress. It got shiped, stressed out, got acclimated to the pet store tank, got more stressed, then got baged up and driven to my house, even more stress, then acclimated to my tank, too much stress. From then no I will not buy a fish unless I know it's been in the pet store for a week or so. I finally did get another clown to acclimate to the tank, but it never seemed all that healthy and died about six months later. When I tried to get a another mate for the original clown I got it from Capital and I think it came with Brookinela(sp?). Both clowns were dead when I came home from work the next day. Sine then I haven't tried any more...

thereefgeek
07/16/2004, 02:39 PM