PDA

View Full Version : Trying to think things through ...

numbr_9
07/13/2004, 03:36 PM
Hi, everybody. I am a reef newbie. Well, I haven't started setting up my tank yet, so I guess I'm still a pre-newbie. Anyways, i come from the Planted Tank side of aquarium keeping. I have been keeping planted freshwater aquaria for about three years now, and have decided to try my hand at reef keeping. Because of my experience, I have a good understanding of water chemestry, bioloads, lighting, all types of filtration, and more. I also have been reading the saltwater articles in my magazines for years.

I will start with a 55 G tank. My goal is to end up with one or no fish, lots of soft corals and invertebrets. I particularly am fascinated with the micro-fauna present in reef systems. To get more detailed, my plans are this:

3" - 4" bed of live sand
30 lbs (is this enough?) of uncured live rock
4x55W compact fluorescent 50/50 on timer
protien skimmer (make/model recommendations anybody?)
2 rotating power heads
Instant Ocean sea-salt for R/O water
Heater

No filter, sump, or refugium .... yet.

As far as corals go, discosoma will be my initial purchase, as well as whatever comes from my uncured live rock. I will cycle the tank using the live rock.

Macroalgaes will play an important role.

I am very patient, and fish are a low priority to me, so I have not decided yet what I will stock it with as far as fish go. Like most reef novices, the image of a clownfish and an anemone fascinates me, but I've read that anemones are more picky eaters than I would have the time for. I then considered a royal gamma, but have read conflicting reports. Some say they are great beginner reef tank inhabitatns, others say they will bother the inverts too much. The other fish I particularly like are cardinal fish.