PDA

View Full Version : Best magnet for large acrylic tanks

Flame*Angel
07/01/2004, 06:42 PM
I'm setting up an 8' 300g Tenecor acrylic tank. The acrylic is 1/2" thick. I'd like to get a very powerful but safe for acrylic magnet to clean it. Any suggestions?

crescent1
07/01/2004, 09:36 PM
tiger shark, great magnet.http://www.aquariumcleaner.com/images/tiger_shark2002.jpg

imsqueak
07/01/2004, 09:37 PM
Most acrylic people scrape rather than using a mag if they have sand. You dont have to worry about that if you go bare bottom. I actually bought some mags to build cleaners after finding the price to handle 3/4" glass. My first attempt was an utter failure. My next will be w/ urathane or something. tigers and magnavors will be your best bet, but I have no experience to recommend one over the other.

Flame*Angel
07/02/2004, 05:49 PM
Thanks guys.

So what's a good scraper for a 30" tall acrylic tank? I made my own with a razor blade for my glass reef tank but I won't be able to use that on the acrylic.

MAS
07/02/2004, 06:15 PM
2 best Magnets are Magnavore and Schuran. Both are Neodynium based. Im sure there are a few other similiar products on the market too though.

crescent1
07/02/2004, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by Flame*Angel
Thanks guys.

So what's a good scraper for a 30" tall acrylic tank? I made my own with a razor blade for my glass reef tank but I won't be able to use that on the acrylic.

you're on your own with this one, but get ready for scratches.

MAS
07/02/2004, 08:02 PM
The Kent proscrapers work good. THey have many different lengths of carbon fiber handles and come standard with a plastic acrylic scraper.

eljefe3
07/03/2004, 09:08 PM
I use the mag 10 on my tank along with purchasing extra pads for cleaning. So far the mag 10 has been doing a good job.

Travis
07/03/2004, 11:21 PM