PDA

View Full Version : calcium carbonate confusion

Greg Grasson
06/29/2004, 06:53 PM
I am new to reef keeping, and am trying to understand the relationship between calcium, carbonate, and calcium carbonate and am very confused. Hopefully someone in here can explain this to me. I thought that in seawater, there are calcium ions, and carbonate ions. If too much calcium, carbonate, or both are added to the water (the water is already saturated with one, or both), the two will combine to form calcium carbonate and precipitate out of solution. I had the understanding that calcium carbonate is formed when the two combine, either through the skeletal building process of corals, or by precipitating out of solution. I recently purchased some B-ionic. In the instructions it said that if adding more product does not increase alkalinity or calcium levels, the water is saturated with calcium carbonate. Is there calcium, carbonate, AND calcium carbonate in the water? If so, what is the importance of the calcium carbonate?

Randy Holmes-Farley
06/29/2004, 09:11 PM
thought that in seawater, there are calcium ions, and carbonate ions.

So far so good. :)

If too much calcium, carbonate, or both are added to the water (the water is already saturated with one, or both), the two will combine to form calcium carbonate and precipitate out of solution.

Yes, but you can add other things that increase carbonate (CO3--) besides carbonate itself. Bicarbonate (HCO3-) is one, and hydroxide (OH-) is another.

I had the understanding that calcium carbonate is formed when the two combine, either through the skeletal building process of corals, or by precipitating out of solution.

That is correct. :)

In the instructions it said that if adding more product does not increase alkalinity or calcium levels, the water is saturated with calcium carbonate. Is there calcium, carbonate, AND calcium carbonate in the water? If so, what is the importance of the calcium carbonate?