PDA

View Full Version : Help dying hammer

Mal3
06/05/2004, 12:46 PM
My large hammer coral is dying. It looks like an infection. It started at a tip, and is decaying its waY arround the coral.

Is there anything I can do to save it. I considered dipping it in Kent Marine Tech D for SPS to stop infection from spreading. Would you recommend this?

The infection is spreading very fast. It has moved 4 inches in about half a day.

I am leary of moving it to a different tank, but I can do that if you think this to be a good idea.

I also considered breaking off the bad part and hoping the good section survives. Although, I have no experience if this will work or just kill it.

Your thoughts please!

sparkey65
06/05/2004, 04:57 PM
thanks GeorgeW Bush

crpeck
06/05/2004, 06:24 PM
Is it brown and gooey? If so, do a search on "brown jelly" infections. LPS are especially susceptible and if that's what it is, it is contagious and can move to other corals.

If it is a branching type hammer and you can remove infected heads, then yes you should do so if you determine that it is brown jelly. Otherwise ... you need someone more experienced that me to help you with this one.

Can you upload a picture?

Good Luck!
Cathy

crpeck
06/05/2004, 06:33 PM
p.s. Be sure and check the "rules for posting" at the beginning of this forum. You'll get more help from others if you provide more information about the corals and your tank.

Mal3
06/05/2004, 07:29 PM
Thanks for the info. Yes it is brown jelly. It is not a branching hammer. My frogspawn also has it. I will check for the post you suggest. Thanks

crpeck
06/05/2004, 07:54 PM
Here is a reference to Eric's website about Brown Jelly. Recommended treatment is at the bottom just above the pictures.