PDA

View Full Version : sump questions

crazyfingersmike
04/26/2004, 07:47 PM
Ok, I'm trying to take my time and do things right the first time around.

I've decided to go with the following setup, and all my questions in this thread will pertain to the sump.

65 Gal RR tank (36 X 18 X 24)
Sump
In-sump skimmer
two 100 watt heaters
Powerhead (in opposite corner from sump return)
Return pump

I want the sump for the benefits of extra water volume, and a place to hide the equipment. I would like to set it up such that I have the option to add a refugium later (or sooner).

I am not willing to DIY, as I have no experience working with glass or acrylic, and I don't want to get discouraged from the main hobby (maintaining fish, not equipment). So I'm hoping to find a pre-made solution. I've been shopping around, but I haven't found anything that I think I can use. Are there simple, inexpensive (that doesn't mean "cheap") sumps out there that I could buy?

Features I'm looking for are:
- baffles to reduce bubbles
- space for skimmer and return pump
- space for refugium
- small enough to fit under a 36 x 18 stand while allowing for other storage (basically half of the available space)

So how do I proceed? :-)

Thanks in advance...

Kayo
04/26/2004, 08:18 PM
If it weren't for the size, I would recommend this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=20758&item=2397229395&rd=1

I have a 60 gallon and am using this one. I use a foam block to reduce air before the water goes to the final chamber and is pumped back into the tank.

You may want to check Ebay from time to time, you may find something smaller.

xeon
04/26/2004, 08:20 PM
Honestly, there are folks on the board that do work with acrylic and build nice sumps. You might try coming up with a design for what you want and then posting in the "Want to Buy" forum.

clown2be
04/26/2004, 08:21 PM