PDA

View Full Version : Trace Elements and Additives

allwilli
03/19/2004, 02:02 PM
I am new to the hobby. I inherited a fish only tank some months ago and have been adding live rock, corals and inverts. I recently added a yellow leathe coral and fox coral to me tank. The guy at the LFS said I needed to supplement them with iodine so I picked up a bottle of Kent Marine Tech-I. I have been using EcoSystem's Reef Solution and have seen a marked improvement since using that product (which by the way includes Iodine). Do I need to add the additional iodine as well? I called EcoSystem and they were less than helpful. Although my tank is established the bio-load is rather light:

20 Gal
single clownfish
4 hermits 7 snails
Banded Coral Shrimp
1 lawnmower blenny
1 blue damsel
the above mentioned corals
Medium size frogspawn
Feather duster
BTA (approx 5- 6" dia.)

Thanks

thrlride
03/19/2004, 02:40 PM
the best thing to do would be to take some of your water to the LFS for testing or buy an iodine test kit. That's the best advice I can offer.

thrlride
03/19/2004, 02:47 PM
Double post.

reefgal
03/19/2004, 03:20 PM
For a twenty gallon tank, this is NOT a light bioload. You will be surprised at how quickly the corals you have will outgrow your tank.

As for additives...if you aren't testing for it, don't add it. There is a lot of iodine in fishfood. There is also iodine being added every time you do a water change on your tank. Iodine supplements are hotly debated on this board. I don't believe in ANY additives except calcium and alkalinity supplements. I believe the rest are a waste of money and potentially harmful to the animals.

H@rry
03/19/2004, 03:44 PM