PDA

View Full Version : nitrites wont go down

thewraith
03/18/2004, 11:41 PM
hi everyone im new to the hobby and i need a little advice from you guys..i have a new tank that is still in its cycling mode..its been cycling for 4 1/2 weeks..it is a fish only tank with no live rock or coral..i started off with damsels and 1 1/2 weeks ago my nitrites spiked to peek level and all my damsels died..ive been testing my levels since then and my ph is good as well as ammonia is perfect..my nitrites have been at 2.0 for the last week and a half..i have no fish in there as of now..also my nitrates are at 10ppm ..does anyone have any suggestions of how i can lower my nitrite level..thanks alot
joe

Reefmedic79
03/18/2004, 11:47 PM
Tank is still cycling, your nitrites will go down in time. I wouldn't put anymore fish in for at least another 4-6 weeks and only after testing the water again.

thewraith
03/19/2004, 12:09 AM
thank you for your quick reply..i was also wondering do you think it is a good idea to put more damsels in..i asked around at lfs and they gave me different answers..one lfs told me my nitrite level is at a pause..he told me it will not drop because there is not enough bacteria in the tank to let the level go down..is this true?

speccialj922
03/19/2004, 12:42 AM