PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help on 125gal

Kyriacos
03/17/2004, 11:51 PM
Hello everybody,

I'm very new to the hobby and could use as much help as possible. I have learned a lot so far going through all of the forums, Thanks to Reef Central and all of its members. So far I've gotten lucky. I aquired 2 tanks free of charge. The first one is a 55gal which I intend on using as a sump. The second one is a pre-drilled 125gal. The 125 has one 1" bulkhead and two 1/2" bulkheads on either side of the tank. Do you guys think I should make the returns into 3/4" rather than 1/2". Also what size pump would you recomend for the return. It will be about 3 1/2 ft to the display tank. I will leave it here for now, but I have more questions. Thanks, Chris

yessongs
03/18/2004, 12:09 AM
3/4" return bulkheads will be much better, thats not easy to do, its been done but you can break the glass.
I would leave it and use 1/2" flex tubing www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_plumbing_parts_fittings_2.asp#bs
A SCWD www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_wavemakers_scwd_squid.asp?CartId=
and a mag 12 www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=DN1129
This is only a suggestion

BTW is there any kind of overflow?

Kyriacos
03/18/2004, 12:14 AM
The 125 is acrylic, the 55 is glass. There is an 8"x8" overflow
thank you for the reply

Kyriacos
03/18/2004, 12:20 AM
well soon there will be an 8"x8" overflow, the original owner removed it for some reason when he gave away the tank, by the way, the two 1/2" holes are drilled on the bottom of the tank, one on the left of the tank and one on the right

Kyriacos
03/18/2004, 01:41 AM
Would you recomend a power head for more water flow or will a Mag12 with SCWD be enough, and what size powerhead do you think I should use

Cody00SS
03/18/2004, 03:26 AM
Am mag 12 on a scwd will not be as much flow as you think. Plus, if I understand the sugestion correctly, that leave no room for the sump drain(s) and return on your setup.