PDA

View Full Version : a few questions about coral

cadd
03/17/2004, 11:52 AM
hi i know these questions to you might sound stupid but to me as a beginner i dont have a clue so i would like a bit of advice.

okay which coral is best to start of wih for beginners.also when you put coral into your tank what do you do do you have to plant it into the sand at the bottom or whatever else you have at the bottom.also when i have seen pics with people put rocks in there is always coral on top of them or in between them,so what do you do just place them on how you like.

MiddletonMark
03/17/2004, 12:05 PM
Maybe this would be better answered in the `New to the Hobby' forum?

In my opinion [just that] there will be more people jumping in to answer your questions.

As for what is best ... you'll need to lay out what your system is, and what you want to keep in it. Normally zoanthids, mushrooms, leathers are often good beginner corals. Most can be gotten as `frags' = propagated corals that come from other aquarists tanks. I prefer them as they can then grow into the tank, are often cheaper to get, and have proven to be hardy in aquaria.

I'd really suggest checking out / joining a reef club in your area. I learn a whole lot from mine, have met good friends, have gotten and given free frags ... and you can see how people run different kinds of systems successfully and ask questions while standing in front of the tank. The `reef club forums' at the bottom of the forums listing has a good many, though others exist elsewhere.

And I would always suggest a good coral book. Eric Borneman's `Aquarium Corals' is really the best out there now in my opinion ... nevermind being authored by the moderator of this forum [and scholar elsewhere]. It's worth every penny.